In this post, I discuss whether Doritos are gluten free as well as provide a list of chips that are gluten free. I also reveal how these chip brands fared when put to the hidden gluten Nima Sensor test. This post contains affiliate links. Please see my disclosures.
Whether it’s summer BBQ season, you’re feeding a crowd to watch the big game, you’re packing your child’s lunch, or you’re settling in on the couch to munch on chips and watch Netflix, it’s important to know if Doritos – as well as other popular chip brands – are gluten free and safe for you to enjoy on the gluten-free diet.
I tested Doritos and other chip brands for hidden gluten using a portable gluten-detecting device called the Nima Sensor.
The Nima Sensor is one of my all-time favorite gadgets. It’s a portable gluten-detecting device that enables you to test your food for hidden gluten.
While the Nima Sensor has gone through some turmoil over the years in terms of production and mismanagement, it’s now under new management and you can purchase the device and test capsules again.
And I assure you, despite the naysayers, this device is protecting the gluten-free community like no other device can. It’s extremely accurate and reliable when used correctly, and it keeps you healthy by ensuring the food you’re about to eat is really gluten-free safe. No more trusting brands and restaurants to get gluten free right.
In this post, I share with you whether some of the more common chip brands contain gluten, and I’ll test each one with my Nima Sensor, just to give you an added level of reassurance.
Are Doritos Gluten Free?
While I personally don’t care for Doritos, I’ve been asked by several people in my community to test them for hidden gluten.
In my research of Doritos, I found the following information:
- Doritos do not appear to contain any gluten ingredients.
- The only Doritos variety that is labeled gluten free is the Simply Organic White Cheddar-flavored Doritos. You can see a full list of Frito Lay chips with gluten-free claims on the Frito Lay website.
- Without a gluten-free label, it means that Doritos has not been validated to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten (the labeling guidelines set forth by the FDA).
- Could Doritos contain less than 20 ppm of gluten? Absolutely. Unfortunately, without the gluten-free claim on the label, it means the product has not been tested and therefore cannot be labeled as gluten free per FDA guidelines.
The Nima Sensor is highly accurate at sniffing out gluten even below the 20 ppm FDA-set threshold. (Some critics even say it’s “too accurate” or “too sensitive”, if there is such a thing.)
I tested Doritos with my Nima Sensor and it did not find any hidden gluten.
Based on both the ingredient list and the Nima Sensor test, I personally feel good about eating them, but of course, the decision is ultimately up to you.
Please note a smiley face on the Nima Sensor means the product tested does not contain gluten. If Nima finds gluten, it displays a wheat symbol and “Gluten Found” message.
Are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten Free?
Another reader asked me to test Cool Ranch Doritos for hidden gluten.
A cursory glance at the ingredient list tells me that the Cool Ranch flavor does not contain any gluten ingredients. In fact, the ingredient list goes out of its way to mention that its maltodextrin is derived from corn, which is good to know given that maltodextrin can be derived from wheat, corn or other grains. (Read: Is Yeast Extract Gluten Free and 20+ Other Confusing Ingredients)
Remember, however, the only Doritos that is labeled gluten free is the Simply Organic White Cheddar-flavored Doritos. This means Frito Lay has not tested the Cool Ranch Doritos to ensure it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten.
The good news is that Nima Sensor did not find any gluten in the Cool Ranch Doritos. Again, between examining the ingredient and a negative Nima Sensor test, I would feel comfortable eating these chips, but of course, the decision is ultimately up to you.
I also tested the Doritos Locos Taco at Taco Bell for hidden gluten. The results aren’t as promising as these. Read, Eating Gluten Free at Taco Bell (Nima Tested), for the full scoop.
Are Cheetos Gluten Free?
Yes, Cheetos are labeled gluten free and you can see the gluten-free claim on many Cheetos bags.
Frito Lay also lists the following Cheetos varieties as gluten free on its website:
- CHEETOS® Baked Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheddar Jalapeño Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Crunchy Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Crunchy Flamin’ Hot® Limón Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Crunchy XXTRA Flamin’ Hot® Flavored Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Fantastix! Chili Cheese Flavored Corn and Potato Snacks
- CHEETOS® Fantastix! Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn and Potato Snacks
- CHEETOS® Paws™ Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Puffs Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Simply Crunchy White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Simply Puffs White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
- CHEETOS® Reduced Fat Puffs Flamin’ Hot® Cheese Flavored Snacks
I independently tested Cheetos for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor, and Nima did not find any gluten either – whew!
Are Fritos Gluten Free?
Fritos are a staple in my house and they taste amazing when atop my Slow Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup, a recipe I make twice per month (sometimes more!).
Frito Lay lists the following Fritos varieties as gluten free, and the gluten-free label is found on each individual bag.
- FRITOS® Lightly Salted Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Original Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips
- FRITOS® Scoops!® Corn Chips
The Nima Sensor came back with a smiley face (no gluten found), confirming that Fritos are indeed gluten free.
Other Frito Lay chips that are also gluten free (although I didn’t independently test them), include:
- Lay’s potato chips
- Ruffles potato chips
- Tostitos tortilla chips
- Santitas tortilla chips
- Smartfood popcorn
Are Lay’s Potato Chips Gluten Free?
There’s nothing like a bag of Lay’s potato chips to make a BBQ dinner complete. The good news is that Lay’s potato chips are labeled gluten free (not certified gluten free) and I tested them with my Nima Sensor too. No gluten found.
It’s important to note that not all Lay’s flavors are gluten-free safe, and Lay’s says on its website that it divides its “gluten free” potato chips into two categories: (1) Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients, which do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oats in their formulas but have not been tested to ensure they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten per the FDA, and (2) Gluten Free Products, which Lay’s says have been analytically tested and qualified as gluten free.
Here is a list of the Lay’s products that do not contain gluten ingredients according to the Lay’s website:
- LAY’S® Barbecue Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Cheddar Jalapeno Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Chile Limón Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Dill Pickle Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Flamin’ Hot Dill Pickle Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Honey BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Extra Extreme Cheddar Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Extra Honey Habanero Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Flamin’ Hot® Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Flamin’ Hot® Limon Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Jalapeño Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Maui Onion Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Original Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Smoky BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Jalapeño Cheddar Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Original Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Sea Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Limón Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Poppables® Honey BBQ Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Sea Salt Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Sea Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Southwest Ranch Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® White Cheddar Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® STAX® Flamas Xtreme Flavored Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® STAX® Queso Flavored Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® STAX® Salted Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® STAX® Spicy Chile Limon Flavored Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® STAX® Tangy Limon Flavored Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® STAX® XTRA Flamin’ Hot Flavored Potato Crisps
- LAY’S® Sweet Southern Heat BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Wavy Hickory BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
- LAY’S® Wavy Ranch Flavored Potato Chips
This information pertains only to products distributed in the U.S. Products and was last updated July 7, 2022. Read labels carefully as formulas may change.
Are Trader Joe’s Rolled Corn Tortilla Chips Gluten Free?
One of my favorite chips to snack on are the Rolled Corn Tortilla Chips (chili and lime flavor) from Trader Joe’s. These chips contain a gluten-free claim on the bag, and, when put to the Nima Sensor test, they tested gluten free. As you can see below, the Nima Sensor is all smiles.
Find out if Takis are gluten free in this article, Are Takis Gluten Free? Tested for Hidden Gluten With Nima Sensor.
Are Veggie Straws Gluten Free?
My kids love Veggie Straws. They are perfect for happy snacking.
Each bag is labeled gluten free, and the Nima Sensor was all smiles too.
Yes, Veggie Straws are gluten free.
Are Late July Chips Gluten Free?
Costco carries big bags of Late July tortilla chips, making Late July a staple brand in our pantry.
Sea Salt Late July chips are labeled gluten free (certified gluten free, actually), and the Jalapeno Lime flavor is also labeled gluten free.
I independently tested the brand for hidden gluten, and the Nima Sensor did not find any gluten in either Late July flavor.
Are Pringles Gluten Free?
A lot of people ask me if Pringles are gluten free, and the answer is no, they are not. Pringles contain wheat starch as you can see from this screenshot of the Pringles ingredient list.
In some rare cases, wheat starch can be considered gluten free if labeled as such, but in the case of Pringles, the wheat starch used is not gluten free.
That said, if you love Pringles, I highly recommend you try Good Crisps. We call them gluten-free Pringles.
You can find Good Crisps at many Walmart stores or online on Amazon.
Alternatively, Trader Joe’s makes a gluten-free like Pringle chip, which you can see tested for hidden gluten in my article about Trader Joe’s gluten-free products.
Missing a Chip You Love?
Am I missing a chip you love from this list? Want me to test your favorite chip brand for hidden gluten?
Please leave a comment and let me know what chip brand you want me to test with my Nima Sensor next.
See how these other products/brands/restaurants fared when put to the Nima Sensor test:
- Is Tofu Gluten Free?
- Guide to Gluten-Free Frozen Dinners (Nima Tested!)
- Are Marshmallows Gluten Free and Testing Jet-Puffed Marshmallows for Hidden Gluten
- Is Nutella Gluten Free? Nima Sensor Tested
- What Ice Creams are Gluten Free? [Nima Sensor Tested]
- Putting the Five Guys “Gluten-Free Menu” to the Nima Sensor Test
- Store-Bought Soups that are Gluten Free
- Are Chocolate Chips Gluten Free?
- What’s Gluten Free at the Olive Garden
Learn more about the Nima Sensor in these articles: