Curious if those tiny Tic Tac mints are really gluten-free. I share what the manufacturer says and the results of my independent test for hidden gluten using my Nima Sensor. Please see my disclosures.
Everyone loves those tiny pill-shaped mints known around the world as Tic Tacs. They come in minty and fruity flavors and jiggle in your purse as you carry them around town.
But have you wondered if Tic Tacs are gluten-free, meaning they’re free from wheat, barley, and rye?
In this article, I share what the brand says about gluten, as well as how Tic Tacs fared when put to the hidden gluten test.
What Tic Tac Says About Gluten
Fresh Mint-flavored Tic Tacs are made from sugar, maltodextrin, rice starch, gum Arabic, natural and artificial flavors, magnesium stearate, and carnauba wax.
Flavored Tic Tacs will contain other ingredients.
The Tropical Adventure Tic Tacs, for example, also contain fruit powders, including passion fruit, pineapple juice, mango, and banana, and are colored with “beet red” vs. artificial dyes.
While Tic Tacs aren’t certified gluten-free by a third party, Tic Tac says on its website that its “pills” are gluten-free and do not contain any ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals, including wheat, barley, rye, oats, or triticale.
They’re also free from tree nuts, peanuts, and GMOs, and they’re kosher.
Tic Tacs Vs. Nima Sensor
I independently tested Tic Tacs for hidden gluten using my Nima Sensor, a portable gluten-detecting device that enables you to test a pea-sized portion of your food for hidden gluten.
In about 2-3 minutes, Nima will reveal if it found gluten or if the product is gluten-free.
Before investing in a Nima, please read my article, What You Need to Know About Nima Sensor Before You Buy – Perspective from a Celiac & Nutrition Professional.
I’m happy to report that Nima smiled, which meant it didn’t find any gluten in the Tic Tac I tested.
The Bottom Line
While Tic Tacs aren’t labeled gluten-free, the brand says they do not contain gluten ingredients, and my independent testing also showed they do not contain gluten.
Yes, Tic Tacs are gluten-free and safe to consume if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.
Enjoyed this post? You might also enjoy these articles: