Curious if Kind Bars are gluten-free? I’ll share what the company says and how the bars fared when tested for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor. This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosures.
If you follow a strict gluten-free diet, finding snacks that are safe to eat can be challenging. And if you’re gluten-free, you know that carrying snacks with you at all times is a must.
One snack option many people in the gluten-free community turn to is Kind Bars. But you may wonder if Kind Bars are gluten-free since they contain oats. (More on that later.)
The short answer is yes, Kind Bars are gluten-free. Of course, ingredients and claims can change anytime, so the latest and best information will always be on the label itself. (Read: Formerly Gluten-Free Products that Now Contain Gluten.)
The company says that all Kind products with a “gluten-free” claim on the label have undergone testing to ensure they meet the FDA’s requirements for gluten-free labeling. This means the product cannot contain gluten ingredients and must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.
Testing Kind Bars for Hidden Gluten
I also independently tested Kind Bars for hidden gluten using my Nima Sensor, a gluten-detecting device that enables you to test a small piece of food for gluten in about 1-2 minutes.
While Kind Bars are labeled gluten-free, they contain a controversial ingredient in the gluten-free world: Oats.
While oats are naturally gluten-free, they’re often cross-contaminated with wheat during the growing, harvesting, processing, and manufacturing processes.
While oats labeled gluten-free are generally safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities to eat, a few companies that make or contain gluten-free oats, even certified gluten-free oats and purity protocol oats, have tested positive for gluten above 20 ppm. These companies include GF Harvest and Safe + Fair Granola.
You can read more about why oats are controversial in my article, Are Oats Gluten Free? Unpacking Confusing and Contradictory Information.
As you can see, the following Kind Bar tested a-okay. A smiley face from Nima means Nima didn’t find any gluten.
Before Eating Kind Bars…
Before eating a Kind Bar, do the following:
Look for the GF Claim: Check the label to spot a “gluten-free” claim. Only consume Kind Bars with the gluten-free claim.
Consider Your Relationship with Oats: While oats are tolerated by most people with celiac disease, some people cannot tolerate oats and experience a similar response to oats as they do with gluten. Read more about this phenomenon in my article, Understanding Gluten Cross-Reactivity and Gluten Cross-Reactive Foods.
Kind Bars are Not a Health Food: I’d be remiss if I didn’t say that Kind Bars contain a lot of sugar, which can impact your gut health. Kind Bars should be consumed in moderation. Read 10 Tips to Breaking Your Sugar Addiction.
About My Nima Sensor: Many people are curious about my Nima Sensor after seeing it in action. While it’s a great device, it has some limitations you must know about before using it.
Read my article, What You Need to Know About Nima Sensor Before You Buy, to help you understand how to get the most out of this testing device.
You might enjoy these articles, too:
Leave a Comment