Are you curious if Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s are gluten-free, especially given that they contain oats and oats are a controversial ingredient in gluten-free land? I tested the cereal with my Nima Sensor and reveal the results below. Please see my disclosures.
The shelves at Trader Joe’s are filled with fabulous gluten-free pumpkin products, including Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s.
The Pumpkin O’s look a lot like gluten-free Cheerios, but they taste quite different.
The crunchy o-shaped cereal offers a light, crunchy, fall-esque flavor. They’re light and airy, making for a desirable texture in a gluten-free cereal.
The Pumpkin O’s also offer a touch of sweetness. You can taste the brown sugar, cinnamon, and subtle pumpkin spices in every bite.
The cereal is worth trying if you love pumpkin, and it’s delicious whether you’re gluten-free or not.
Ingredients in Pumpkin O’s
Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s are made with U.S. organic whole-grain brown rice and whole-grain oats from Canada. It’s also made with real pumpkin vs. pumpkin flavor, making for a more natural product and authentic taste.
The cereal is labeled gluten-free and vegan on the front of the packaging. Remember, whenever you see “Gluten-Free” on a Trader Joe’s product, the no-frills grocery says it means the product has been validated to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.
Testing Pumpkin O’s for Hidden Gluten
I tested Trader Joe’s Pumpkin O’s with my Nima Sensor, a portable gluten-detecting device that enables you to test a small portion of your food for hidden gluten.
This device, albeit imperfect, is a great way to know if the food in front of you is safe to eat.
I’m happy to report that Nima was all smiles, which means it didn’t find any gluten.
You can find the limited edition Pumpkin O’s at Trader Joe’s across the U.S. during pumpkin season.
Check out my list of 10 Irresistible Gluten-Free Pumpkin Products at Trader Joe’s. There are many fabulous fall finds; if they are on my list, they’re 100% gluten-free!
For more information on Nima Sensor, read my article What You Need to Know About Nima Sensor Before You Buy – Perspective from a Celiac & Nutrition Professional.
To learn more about the FDA’s gluten-free labeling guidelines, read What Gluten-Free Labeling Laws and Certifications Really Mean.
To better understand gluten-free Cheerios controversy, please read Unpacking the Gluten-Free Cheerios Controversy: Is It Time to Reconsider Your Stance?
For more information on why oats are a controversial ingredient in gluten-free land, read Are Oats Gluten-Free? Unpacking Confusing and Contradictory Information.
New to gluten-free? Check out my SIGNATURE Gluten-Free Course to learn how to go gluten-free fast and fast-track healing.