I’m often asked if Dunkin’ Donuts offers gluten-free donuts or has any plans to offer gluten-free donuts in the future. In this article, I share Dunkin’s prior gluten-free offerings and what a spokesperson told me when I asked about Dunkin’s plans for future gluten-free items.
A few weeks ago I found an exciting Google Alert in my inbox which led me to an article about gluten-free donuts at Dunkin’ Donuts. I hurriedly clicked on the link to read the article, before realizing that the article was from 2012!
I’m not sure why Google decided to alert me 10 years too late about the article, but alas, the article made me question what happened with the 2012 test launch of gluten-free donuts and did Dunkin’ have plans to offer gluten-free donuts in the future.
In 2012, Dunkin’ tested a gluten-free cinnamon sugar donut and a gluten-free blueberry muffin at select locations. The restaurant chain said it planned to roll out these goodies nationwide by the end of 2013. Both the gluten-free cinnamon sugar donut and the gluten-free blueberry muffin were certified gluten-free by the GFCO, and both were made and packaged in a dedicated gluten-free facility.
Unfortunately, Dunkin’ discontinued the bakery items not too long after they launched, and I cannot find any information online about why and when this happened.
Gluten-Free Fudge Brownie
While the gluten-free donut and muffin didn’t take off, it turns out Dunkin’ wasn’t done dipping its toe in the gluten-free world.
In 2018, Dunkin’ launched another gluten-free bakery item, an individually-wrapped gluten-free brownie that was certified gluten-free by the GFCO.
I raced into Dunkin’ to try the fudge brownie and even tested it for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor, a portable gluten-detecting device. Nima smiled, which meant it didn’t find any gluten.
Unfortunately, Dunkin’ again discontinued this gluten-free bakery item with little notice or reason. I found this Tweet from the company from January 19, 2019, that says the gluten-free brownie was only meant to be a limited-time offer while supplies last, and a spokesperson told me the company had no plan to bring this item back.
Will Dunkin’ Offer Gluten-Free Options in the Future?
As of February 2023 (the last update of this article), Dunkin’ does not offer any gluten-free bakery items.
I asked Dunkin’ if it plans to create gluten-free items in the future, and a spokesperson told me the following: “Dunkin’ is committed to developing menu items that accommodate guests with food sensitivities, allergies, and dietary restrictions. In recent years, we have tested several gluten-free products (including a gluten-free brownie, donut, and muffin) and have determined that we are not in a position to launch the products successfully nationwide. We recognize the importance of providing our guests with options and continue to explore ways to offer alternative choices for guests with dietary restrictions.”
Does Dunkin’ have a Gluten-Free Menu?
Unfortunately, Dunkin’ offers very few gluten-free food items. I’d like to debunk a few Internet myths about what food is and isn’t safe at Dunkin’:
Hash Browns: The hash browns are listed as gluten-free according to Dunkin’s allergen menu. I asked Dunkin’ several times (via email) how they’re cooked and whether they’re prepared in a shared fryer. I haven’t been able to get a straight answer. Be sure to inquire at the store directly.
Oatmeal: Some articles say you can eat Dunkin’s oatmeal, but if you’re a smart gluten-free consumer, you know oatmeal typically contains gluten via cross-contamination, and the only safe oats are the ones labeled “gluten-free.” Read more about why oats are not always gluten-free in this article.
Omelet Bites: Dunkin’ also offers omelet bites, which according to Dunkin’s allergen PDF, do not contain gluten. They are your safest bet, albeit there is still the potential for cross-contamination.
Donuts: Donuts, along with sandwiches, wraps, and croissants, are off-limits. There are no gluten-free bakery or bread options. Most of these items not only contain wheat flour, but also they contain malted barley. Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley, and sometimes oats, so the fact that it contains both wheat flour and malted barley is a double whammy for the gluten-free community.
Are Dunkin’ Beverages Gluten-Free Safe?
While most – if not all – food is off limits at Dunkin’ depending on your level of gluten-free observance, you can still enjoy many of the beverages at Dunkin’, albeit there is always a risk of cross-contamination in a facility where donuts (aka gluten) rule the land.
You can enjoy coffee, iced beverages, and espresso drinks. Plus, Dunkin’ uses Planet Oat oat milk (verify at each location), which is gluten-free. A gluten-free oat milk will ensure less risk of gluten cross-contamination when enjoying any of the espresso drinks. (Read: Is Oatmilk Gluten Free?)
To check specific beverages for gluten, as some syrups and add-ins could contain gluten, visit the Dunkin’ website and click on the Allergens / Ingredients PDF and search for your beverage of choice.
If you’re serious about cross-contamination, avoid Dunkin’ altogether and enjoy a much cheaper beverage, and gluten-free donut, at home. Here are some of my favorite gluten-free donut brands, and one of my favorite recipes for chocolate-glazed gluten-free donuts.