Specific packages of Van’s Gluten-Free Waffles contain undeclared wheat, which poses a serious risk for people with celiac disease, wheat allergy, or gluten sensitivity.
The recall affects a limited number of Van’s Gluten Free Original Waffles with Lot Code #UW40193L and an expiration date of 1/19/2024. You can find the lot number and expiration date on the side of the box.
The company is working in cooperation with the FDA and says there haven’t been any reports of illness or allergic reactions associated with the affected products.
The company said in a press release that it initiated the recall as a precautionary measure when the company discovered the “potential presence” of wheat in products labeled “gluten-free.”
Further investigation indicates that the problem was caused by the inclusion of a limited number of cartons for Van’s Gluten Free Original Waffles with a pallet of cartons intended for wheat-containing products.
This Is Van’s Second Waffle Recall
The company says it has taken immediate steps to prevent this from happening again, although Van’s said the same thing when it recalled its gluten-free waffles in May 2018 for the same reason.
In the 2018 recall, Van’s said it “inadvertently” packaged its wheat-based waffles in the Van’s Gluten Free Waffle box. In other words, the waffles found inside the Van’s Gluten Free Waffle box contained gluten, undeclared wheat, and undeclared milk.
Were Your Waffles Affected?
If you purchased the recalled product, do not eat it. You can either dispose of it or return it to the place of purchase for a refund. You can also contact Van’s Consumer Affairs at 1-800-323-7117 with questions.
Read the full press release here.