March 23, 2018
On the first night of Passover, Jews are commanded to eat matzah as a reminder of the food our ancestors ate as they left Egypt in haste. However, it's important to note that boxed gluten-free matzah is not made from oats. Oats are one of the five grains mentioned in the Torah required to be eaten in order to complete the mitzvah of matzah, and it is the only grain mentioned that is gluten-free. In this recipe, I not only use oat flour to make the matzah, but I make it in less than 18 minutes (from start to finish). You'll need to hustle to get it all done, but the effort is worth it in order to complete the mitzvah of matzah and still avoid gluten (and feel well). Good luck and Chag Sameach!
Ready to Go?
Add water to flour and mix it quickly and efficiently. If the dough is too dry, add a tiny bit more water at a time. If the dough is too wet, add a little more oat flour. Have a bowl of oat flour and additional water at your side just in case.
Once the dough holds together, pick it up and shape into a big ball, then place it on your floured surface and roll it out as thin as you can go without breaking it and without it sticking to the surface.
Cut off the fray edges with a knife, then cut it into four sections. This isn't a beauty contest, so don't worry if the edges aren't even or in perfect squares. Use your flat spatula to transfer each square on to your baking sheet.
Place baking sheet in the oven and bake it for 10 minutes. Be sure to remove it from the oven at least 10 seconds before your alarm goes off or sooner. Keep an eye on the matzah. Depending on how thin your were able to roll it out, it may be done sooner.
I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free oat flour for this recipe. You can use any certified gluten-free oat flour of choice. The taste is, well, it tastes like matzah! :-)
This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.