Does anyone else think it’s strange that Rice Krispies are not gluten-free, even though they are made from rice, which is naturally gluten-free?
I’m asked all the time, “Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?”
It seems that they would be, but they are indeed NOT gluten-free. I include Rice Krispies on my popular list of 10 Surprise Products that Contain Gluten – yes, most of us gluten-free folk are surprised to learn that Rice Krispies, and our beloved Rice Krispie Treats, are off limits.
Unfortunately, Rice Krispies contain “malt flavoring.” Most malt in the U.S. comes from a barley grain. Barley is not gluten-free and therefore Rice Krispies are not gluten-free.
If you’ve been gluten-free for awhile, you might recall a time when Kellogg’s offered a “gluten-free” variety of its beloved breakfast cereal. The gluten-free Rice Krispies did not contain the malt flavoring. However, in March 2015, Kellogg’s discontinued production of gluten-free Rice Krispies citing “manufacturing constraints.”
However, you might know that you don’t need Rice Krispies if you still want to make Rice Krispie Treats. Instead, you can make Rice Crispy Treats using gluten-free puffed rice cereal. (Rice Krispies is a trademarked brand owned by Kellogg’s).
I use Erewhon cereal* instead, which is made from brown rice and is certified gluten-free. (You can get Erewhon rice cereals in cinnamon flavor too. I used the unflavored cereal for my Rice Crispy Treats.)
Last weekend, for my big 40th birthday celebration, I made gluten-free Rice Crispy Treats as one of the many desserts I served at the party.
I actually made two fun desserts with the brown rice cereal.
First, I made plain Rice Crispy Treats topped with a chocolate drizzle. Yum!
To make these, you follow the instructions to make the gluten-free Rice Crispy Treats below, and then, when they’re cooled, you drizzle melted chocolate on top and refrigerate until the chocolate hardens.
Second, I made Rice Crispy Treats Sushi. Isn’t this beautiful and fun?!? I found inspiration for these beauties on Pinterest as I was searching for party dessert ideas.
In fact, there are so many fun things you can do with gluten-free Rice Crispy Treats. I’m so glad I didn’t have to give them up when I went gluten-free!
So, while you CANNOT eat Rice Krispie Treats because they are not gluten-free, you CAN eat Rice Crispy Treats using Erewhon brown rice cereal instead. You won’t notice a difference in taste or texture and you’ll still be able to enjoy this favorite and fun sweet treat!
*Denotes affiliate link